Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Riverprize finalists announced

The International RiverFoundation (IRF) has announced the finalists of the 2012 Thiess International Riverprize and the 2012 Australian Riverprize.

Riverprize is the world's most prestigious environmental award, giving recognition, reward and support to those who have developed and implemented outstanding, visionary and sustainable programs in river management. 

International RiverFoundation awards the Thiess International Riverprize and the Australian Riverprize (funded by the Australian Government's Water Smart Australia program, under the Water for the Future initiative) annually at the Riverprize Gala Dinner, as part of the International Riversymposium.

Thiess International Riverprize finalists

(in alphabetical order)

  • Nushagak River (USA),
  • Okavango River (Angola, Namibia and Botswana)
  • Prespa Lakes (Greece)
  • Willamette River (USA)

Australian Riverprize finalists

(in alphabetical order)

  • Condamine River (QLD)
  • Georges River (NSW)
  • Swan and Canning Rivers (WA)

Short project summaries for the finalists can be found at, or more detailed summaries of both the Thiess International Riverprize and Australian Riverprize are available at

Winners announced 9 October

All finalists will present during the 15th International Riversymposium in the Riverprize finalists session on Tuesday 9 October, followed by the announcement of the winners at the 2012 Riverprize Gala Dinner.

The winners presentations will be made during the plenary session on Wednesday 10 October.


Riversymposium program

Register for Riversymposium


IWC Masters Scholarships



Personal tools