Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

IWC welcomes new board members

IWC welcomes two new members who have recently joined the IWC Board, and thanks our existing board members for all their wonderful, supportive and hard work, which has played a huge role in ensuring IWC meets its goals in promoting whole-of-water-cycle approaches to integrated water management around the world.

"We would like to thank all our existing board members for their wonderful work in 2012, as we say good-bye to Professor Alistar Robertson from The University of Western Australia, Professor Edwina Cornish from Monash University and Greg Claydon of the Queensland Government," said Mark Pascoe, IWC CEO.

"We congratulate Greg for his new position with Western Australia's Department of Water, and wish him well in the future.

"We would also like to give a very warm welcome to our two incoming board members, Professor Pauline Nestor and Professor Tony O'Donnell. We look forward to another successful and productive year ahead, with people of such high calibre steering the ship."


IWC says good-bye to

Greg Claydon

Greg ClaydonMr Claydon has served on IWC's Board for 4 years. Greg is a well-respected leader in natural resource management and water reform, with a 38 year career in the public service. In particular he has led the Water Resource Strategy branch as Executive Director within the Queensland Department of Natural Resources and Mines. Most recently he has been appointed Executive Director, Science and Planning for the Department of Water in Western Australia.

Professor Edwina Cornish

Edwina Cornish Professor Cornish has served on IWC's Board since IWC's inception. She was appointed Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Monash University in 2004, and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor 2009. She was previously Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and concurrently Professor of Biotechnology at the University of Adelaide. She has contributed to Australian research policy at both state and federal levels and is currently a member of the National Research Infrastructure Council and Provost and Vice President of Monash University.

Professor Alistar Robertson

Alistar Robertson Professor Robertson has served on IWC's Board for five years. He joined UWA in 2002 as Dean of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, and in 2008 was appointed Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research). He has been responsible for facilitating and managing strategic relationships with the Commonwealth science agencies, industry and State and Local agencies in the broad area of environmental research, and facilitated cross-disciplinary linkages across faculties and schools at UWA to develop Research Institutes.


IWC welcomes

Professor Tony O'Donnell

University of Western Australia, Dean of Science

Tony O'DonnellTony O’Donnell, Dean of Science at the University of Western Australia, was educated in the UK.  He graduated from the University of Glasgow in 1976 with Honours in Microbiology and completed his PhD at the University of Bristol in 1979.  Before moving to Western Australia in August 2008, he worked at the University of Newcastle in the Northeast of England where he was Director of the Institute for Environment and Sustainability. Read more ...

Professor Pauline Nestor

Monash University, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research
Pauline NestorProfessor Nestor was educated in Australia and England. After a BA (Hons) at Melbourne University, she attended Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar and completed an MPhil and a DPhil in nineteenth-century English literature and culture. She has written extensively on nineteenth-century English women writers, especially George Eliot, the Brontes and Elizabeth Gaskell. Read more ...


IWC Masters Scholarships



Personal tools