Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Congratulations to the 2012 Riverprize and RMYAA winners

Riverprize awards were presented last week during the 15th International Riversymposium Gala Dinner on Tuesday 9th October in Melbourne.

Both the 2012 Thiess International Riverprize and Australian Riverprize were presented by the International RiverFoundation and supported by the Queensland Government. Riverprize is the world’s most prestigious environmental award, providing recognition, reward and support to those who have developed and implemented outstanding, visionary and sustainable programs in river management.

The 2012 River Management Young Achievers Award, sponsored by Thiess Services and managed by the International WaterCentre Alumni Network (IWCAN), identifies and rewards individuals under 35 who have demonstrated innovation and excellence in river and waterways management.

Congratulations to the winners!


  • The Willamette River Initiative of Oregon (USA)2012 Riverprize International Winner was awarded the 2012 Thiess International Riverprize. The Willamette River Initiative received AU$300,000 as a reward for their effective, collaborative approach that has resulted in marked improvements to the health of the river over the past decade. The Meyer Memorial Trust will now have the opportunity to develop a ‘twinning program’ with another river basin in a different country to share their award winning knowledge and encourage others.

       > Read media release

Above: The Meyer Memorial Trust receives their award.

Photo credits: International RiverFoundation.

  • The Condamine River Alliance of Queensland 2012 Riverprize Australian Winnerwas awarded the 2012 Thiess Australian Riverprize. The Condamine Alliance received AU$200,000 for demonstrating excellence in restoring native fish populations to the Condamine River. The Condamine Alliance also has the opportunity to develop a ‘twinning program’ with another river basin to share their award winning knowledge and encourage others to develop similar projects in their catchments.

      > Read media release

Above: The Condamine Alliance receives their prize.

Photo: International RiverFoundation.


  • Ms Celine Steinfield 2012 RMYAA Winner(New South Wales) won the 2012 River Management Young Achievers Award and received a cheque of AU$3,000 to support her research in hydrology and river management and in particular to support the development of a new hydrological modelling tool called eWASH (Environmental Water Allocation Simulator with Hydrology).

      > Read more about Celine’s work   |   Watch her submission video


Above: Celine Steinfield receives her prize.

Next year’s awards

The Thiess International Riverprize is awarded annually along with the Australian Riverprize, and a European Riverprize will be awarded for the first time in 2013. Applications for 2013 are now open for all categories – please visit the International RiverFoundation website for further details.

The 2013 RMYAA award will be presented at the 16th International Riversymposium, 23-26 September 2013 in Brisbane. Entries will open soon. Register your interest to participate at


IWC Masters Scholarships



Personal tools