Australian water professionals take the lead in 2017

Australian water professionals take the lead in 2017


The 2016/17 Water Leadership Program has launched with 27 water professionals from around Australia joining the International WaterCentre for the program, including a record 12 scholarship recipients.

2016/17 Water Leadership Program has begun

An outstanding cohort of Australian water professionals have joined the sixth round of the award-winning Water Leadership Program for 2016/17, with a record number of scholarships awarded.

Designed for emerging water leaders at the project to middle management level, IWC’s Water Leadership Program is customised for the water sector through sound research and collaboration with experienced industry practitioners. The program focuses on helping leaders to build the leadership abilities (e.g. skills, knowledge and networks), to manage complex challenges, as well as collaborate and exert influence across organisational boundaries.

Scholarship recipients

Twelve scholarships have been awarded to exceptional Australian water professionals for this round of the Water Leadership Program.

Melbourne Water full-scholarship recipients

  • Lisa Solomon, Process Engineer, Melbourne Water
  • Mirna El-Moslmani, Drainage Engineer, Wyndham City Council
  • Vicki Barmby, Senior Sustainability Officer – Adaptation, City of Melbourne

Clearwater full-scholarship recipients

  • John Frdelja, Manager, Strategic Asset Management and Planning, Central Highlands Water
  • Sean Keown, Project Design Engineer, Surf Coast Shire Council
  • Nicholas Madden, Team Leader Commercial Services, Gippsland Water

International WaterCentre full-scholarship recipients

  • Katia Bratieres, Program Coordinator (Research and Design), Melbourne Water
  • Caitlin Davis, Acting Team Leader Planning and Delivery, Victorian Environmental Water Holder

Stormwater partial-scholarship recipients

  • Stormwater NSW: Nerida Taylor, Water Sensitive Urban Design Capacity Building Officer, Blacktown City Council
  • Stormwater NSW: Kristy Good, Splash Coordinator, OEH/Sydney Water/Blacktown Council Grant Position
  • Stormwater QLD: Rebekah Kenna, Erosion and Sediment Control Officer, Redland City Council
  • Stormwater SA: Kate Vugts, Civil Engineer, Wallbridge & Gilbert

2016/17 program

All places for the popular nine-month course running from December 2016 until August 2017 have been taken by experienced water professionals from a wide range of local and state governments, utilities and consulting firms. The course has attracted repeat participation from Unity Water, Western Australia’s Department of Water, Wannon Water, Melbourne Water and the New South Wales Department of Primary Industries, as well as participants from a range of new organisations such as BMT WBM and Mackay Regional Council.

Dr André Taylor, Program coordinator and IWC Leadership Specialist, is pleased with the outcome of the 2016 intake: “The repeat participation from a number of last year’s organisations is testament to the success of this innovative program and shows that participants can gain a real return on investment.”

“Running with a full program is great news and the result of the hard work, passion and professionalism of the IWC team,” said Dr Brian McIntosh, IWC Senior Lecturer & Education Program Manager.

The group will next meet in Brisbane in February for a week-long face-to-face intensive.

More information

Related Post

3 May
Our planet’s water resources are under increasing pressure. To address water scarcity and...
30 April
The Sustainable Water Future Programme is hosting a seminar Towards sustainable water governance -...
26 April
Several African-Australian community leaders, including IWC Project Officer Edith Kamundi, along with special...