2015 Riverprize now open for applications

2015 Riverprize now open for applications

International RiverFoundation is calling for the best of the best in river basin management to apply for the 2015 Riverprize awards.
2015 Riverprize now open for applications

Awarded annually, Riverprize recognises and rewards best practice in the restoration, protection or sustainable management of river basins.

Riverprize winners receive a range of benefits including a cash prize, trophy and global recognition. Additionally, winning the Riverprize often enables organisations to build new partnerships, expand and reinvigorate their programs so that they may continue to achieve success.

Dr Nick Schofield, CEO of the International RiverFoundation, said that winning the Riverprize is often a life-changing experience for oganisations whose credibility and exemplary practices attract interest worldwide.

“Winners are also encouraged to apply their best practices to other river groups who have a special need for the recognised expertise. Sharing experiences and exchanging knowledge often results in mutual benefits” said Dr Schofield.

Any organisation involved in river, wetland, lake, or estuary restoration, protection or sustainable development is encouraged to apply for a Riverprize. Applications will be judged by a panel of experts on criteria including integration, collaborative approaches and scientifically demonstrable  achievements.

Depending on the geographic location of their river, applicants may apply for the inaugural Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize, the Australian Riverprize or the renowned Thiess International Riverprize – the world’s top award for river excellence. A European Riverprize will also be awarded in 2015, as will the first ever North American Riverprize.

The winners of these prizes will be announced in front of a global audience of river specialists at the Riverprize Gala Dinner, to be held in conjunction with the 18th International Riversymposium in Brisbane, Australia, on 22 September, 2015.

Applications can be made online through the IRF website. Stage one of the application must be completed by March 2015 (precise dates vary depending on prize category).

Related Post

3 May
Our planet’s water resources are under increasing pressure. To address water scarcity and...
30 April
The Sustainable Water Future Programme is hosting a seminar Towards sustainable water governance -...
26 April
Several African-Australian community leaders, including IWC Project Officer Edith Kamundi, along with special...